Guest author George Loveland

So delighted to have George here today on the eve’s eve of his release day for Up in the Air.
When you were last at my blog we chatted about watching your first story fledge. What does it feel like this time round?
Scarier! I was published in Anthologies before, so I didn’t feel the pressure because there were other stories around mine. This time it’s just me, so I am excited but scared to see what people will think. This story is also the first in a series, as I knew I wanted to write more about the guys. So I have a whole series planned which features the two main characters in this novella, James and Darren, and then the next story out will be James’ best friend, Max and his adventures.
What do you think you’ve learned since you were first published?
I’ve learnt to stand up for my characters and story, but also listen to the feedback I receive. I’ve been very lucky to work with great editors and beta readers who’ve helped me strengthen my writing. Each time I get edits and comments back I read through them, let them settle then go back to read them again. I’ll admit to scoffing at some things, but then appreciating the changes suggested. I’ve also been adamant at keeping things that feel right to me, not just because I want them there, but because it will be more relevant to the story later on.
GeorgeLoveland
What inspired the latest book?
This story came from an exercise in a NaNoWriMo book called ‘Ready, Set, Novel’. I had to write a list of 20 items that I loved, then pick three out of a hat. I picked flying, kissing and mountains. I’ve flown a lot for my job to Johannesburg, and the idea of a passenger nearly missing a flight and then falling for an air steward came to me.
Did you know where ‘Up in the Air’ was going from the start or did it take an unexpected turn?
This story, and the subsequent stories in the series, have been in my mind for years. So the general plot has been there and I knew what was going to happen. However the journey the characters take has often led me to wonder who the writer is. They go their own way sometimes and I love how things evolve. Sometimes they do things I don’t want them to, but I usually let it flow and see what happens. What I’ve discovered is that when something doesn’t work in one place, it will usually work in another area of the story, so the characters usually get their own way.
Have you ever been writing and discovered something totally unexpected about one of your characters?
In this story, there’s a scene in the hotel restaurant at breakfast, where at the end Darren said something which had me chuckling. It also showed another side of him which I hadn’t expected to see. It was sweet and made me love him even more.
Which book do you wish you’d written and why?
Oh my gosh – I don’t know if I could. I love to read and one of the things writing has taught me, is to appreciate how much goes into writing a book and the author’s themselves. That said, The Signs of the Zodiac series by Vicki Petterson would be one! She is an amazing writer and the world she created is so rich, I’d love to have her talent and written those stories. Also, Sean Kennedy and his Tigers and Devils series, I’ve read them countless times and love the characters and world he has built too.
Have you got a secret you’d be willing to share?
I think I am quite open, and I probably post more on Facebook than I should! How about I was the boys dancing champion back in the day … I think I was seven or eight. I remember looking around my competition and watching them copying me, which didn’t make sense. However, I won and I still have the photo – somewhere! I wore this red trouser and white shirt combo my mum made me! I looked fab!
Thanks for dropping by, toots, and good luck with the book!
Johannesburg

2 thoughts on “Guest author George Loveland”

Leave a Reply

