What mystery in your own life could be a plot for a book?

When that question came through from Goodreads I thought, “Nothing at all.” And then I remembered my great great grandfather, who was born in 1848 (we go back a long way very quickly on the maternal line of my family.) Who his father was, we’re not sure. It might have been the man his mother eventually married, who appeared to be a lodger in the house, but I have some wild theories – none of which I have any evidence for, naturally.

GGF’s name was Robert Osmond (possibly Osment) Bowstead Gaff, which is an unusually elaborate name, and while Robert crops up all over the place on the family tree, the other two elements don’t. I have a theory that Osmond Bowstead is the clue to my GGGF’s identity. (I think Robert’s mother may have been in service at some point. Did an indiscretion happen with one of the guests?)

Mystery indeed.

4 thoughts on “What mystery in your own life could be a plot for a book?”

  1. My great grandfather was disowned by the rest of the family. The story was that he remarried only 3 weeks after the death of his wife. However we have since found the marriage cert. and it was years later that he remarried. So what was the row about? There is no one left alive who knows.

Leave a Reply

