Thank you Havant Writers for being so welcoming

I had a lovely evening on Wednesday, being entertained by the Havant and District Writers Circle. I chatted to them about research and not making dangerous assumptions, going via the lives of gay men in the early 20th century to the distortions of the truth practiced by some biographical sources.

They particularly liked my collection of genuine and repro old newspapers; such a source of both information and entertainment. I challenged them to produce a flashfic type of piece of writing, in just 20 minutes, inspired by the papers. Having had a shufti through the results, I have to say I’m stunned by the standard. Such a variety of author voice!

Thanks to Carol and Wendy for inviting me.

Leave a Reply

Thank you Havant Writers for being so welcoming

I had a lovely evening on Wednesday, being entertained by the Havant and District Writers Circle. I chatted to them about research and not making dangerous assumptions, going via the lives of gay men in the early 20th century to the distortions of the truth practiced by some biographical sources.

They particularly liked my collection of genuine and repro old newspapers; such a source of both information and entertainment. I challenged them to produce a flashfic type of piece of writing, in just 20 minutes, inspired by the papers. Having had a shufti through the results, I have to say I’m stunned by the standard. Such a variety of author voice!

Thanks to Carol and Wendy for inviting me.

Leave a Reply

